1/144 SUKHOIS IN PROGRESS: SU-30MKKS PT5

Well, this is a bit late, but I finished the first of the trio. There were a couple clear coat issues but I think it ended up OK… Here’s the link to the gallery: https://cosmosmodels.wordpress.com/2016/02/29/trumpeter-1144-su-30mkk/Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 11.55.31 AM.png

I’m cruising along on #2 because I opted for painting straight from the rattle cans. The topside got a coat of Tamiya Gunship gray. It’s a little warmer in tone than the instructions call out for, but I think it’s a good color. I’m also deviating slightly into the “What-if” category by adding the lighter gray radome and wingtips. Once those colors were on I did the detail painting. Not as crisp as I’d like but it’s within acceptable range for this build. The last touch before beginning the decal phase was a new test for me: Mr. Clear Super Gloss. Oh man, I LIKE that stuff. Super clean. Lays really well. Doesn’t pool. Dries rock solid in about 15 minutes. SUPER glossy. This is definitely a step up from the Future application.

Leave a Reply

